Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

2.06.2010

Evernight by Claudia Gray - Quickie Review

Evernight (Evernight, Book 1) Evernight (Evernight, Book 1) by Claudia Gray
Paid for by me!
Author web site

PJV's Quickie POV: Read this right before I started PJV. Picked it up after I had tore through the Twilights. I just got to the second in the series, so I thought I would revisit Evernight with a quickie review. I enjoyed this book tremendously, and had planned on sucking down the sequel quickly, but with an out of control TBR it took me awhile.

Review: Under duress, Bianca is forced to attend a creepy and snobbish school called Evernight Academy.  Bianca's parents are teachers at the school and they are hoping the school will help Bianca with her incompetent social skills.

Bianca really doesn't fit in though, and her parents aren't exactly happy that Bianca falls in with the least likely of candidates a very angry and controlling gent by the name of Lucas. Lucas is an enigma to Bianca and she knows that hooking up with him might lead to even more shunning from the other students. While this is going on there is also a lot of hinting to the fact that something odd is afoot at Evernight Academy.

A true Romeo & Juliet retelling, Evernight was highly enjoyable and I felt myself wanting more the moment the last page was turned. There were a few problems with the novel, but nothing that drove me crazy.  A lot of critics haven't liked the "reveal" but I enjoyed it and thought it was a good way to turn things on end instead of the usual "Girl Meets Vamp" YA happiness.  Check this book, it is worth the read, especially since Hourglass is about to be released, you won't have long to wait.

Recommendations: Fans of Meyer's Twilight series, Mead's Vampire Academy  and the Cast's House of Night series. Both adults and teens, parents, nothing to be worried about but a few kisses.










6 comments:

Faye said...

I loved this book! i still have 2 read stargazer!

oO Mariana Oo said...

I really liked this book, it was great. And I really want to read the third one. Great Review!

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

Great review. I have yet to try this one.

Emily said...

Great review- I want to fit in this book and the second one in the series before I start Hourglass.

Michelle said...

I really enjoy this series. I enjoy the author's multiple twists and turns as well as her take on the popular subject of vampires.

Tina said...

I LOVED this series.....Stargazer was my fav, thus far, but Im loving hourglass...ssss-ooooo good!!!

Post a Comment

Let me have it...