Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

8.16.2010

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White




Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Review copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Stalk the Author:
Web  |  Twitter  | Facebook 

PJVs QUICKIE POV: I bleeping loved this book. I had high expectations and White delivered. If you are in the mood for a feel-good, action-packed book that balances light and fluffy with dark and stormy perfectly, this is the book for you. White does a balancing act between YA chick lit and deep paranormal romance well, lightening it up when you need it and sinking you deep into the rough and tumble right as you are getting tired of the cotton candy. YA fans - the publishers keep on delivering us some great debut authors, Kiersten White is now on that list and I say, "Keep It Coming."


REVIEW: Evie's pretty normal, yep, a normal sixteen year old. She likes pink, her weekly dose of television teen drama and shopping. It doesn't really matter that she works and lives within the confines of the International Paranormal Containment Agency, or that she is the only one on the planet that can see through a paranormals' glamour, she's still normal, an average human teenager, who just likes to name her weapons and paint them pink. Nothing strange about that.

On a routine bag and tag of a vampire Evie comes back to head quarters to find that her boss and stand-in mother wannabe, Raquel is not exactly Raquel anymore. She's someone wearing Raquel's face. A quick zap with her taser and situation handled...or is it? As more is revealed about the skin-changing stranger, Evie begins to realize that there is more to him than meets the eye, and she just might be at the center of all the controversy that is ranging throughout the paranormal world.

Great world building. Excellent character development. Touching romance. Heart-warming friend bonding. Heart-string pulling death and destruction. Skin-tingling evil behavior by the antagonist. Hair-pulling inner conflict... the list goes on. In the end I devoured this book and would like to request my own personal Lend. I would only make him skinchange into Ryan Reynolds every week or so. Vin Diesel, every other week.

I really couldn't find a thing wrong about this book...except maybe I wanted it to be a bit more mature. As an adult reading these sparkly little YA books sometimes I feel I need to corrupt them a bit more. ;)

RECOMMENDATIONS: Fans of lighter YA paranormal should really enjoy. There is nothing tawdry or overly mature in the book, so younger teens are fine. Fans of Jackson Pearce, Bree Despain and Kelley Armstrong's The Summoning Series should enjoy.












9 comments:

Karen said...

I had no interest in reading this at first - even passed up on an ARC then I started reading more about it...doh! Luckily a friend is sending her copy soon!!

My 5 Monkeys(Julie) said...

yeah you liked it. Loved lend and all things pink.

Savannah said...

II pre-ordered this book and I can't wait to read it. Nice review.

E.J. Stevens said...

I pre-ordered this book for my birthday. So glad to hear you liked it. I can't wait to read it! :)

xx,
E.J
From the Shadows

MC Rogerson said...

Great review. I'm looking forward to reading this one.

Tara SG (25 Hour Books) said...

I cannot wait to read this one!

Anna said...

I loved this one too. :)

Lily Child said...

Yes! I am so glad you liked it! I am dying to get my hands on a copy! :)

The Bookish Type said...

I was excited for this book anyone, but you just sent it to the top of my list! This review was so much fun to read and REALLY made me want to read this book! I love how open and honest your reviews are, like having a conversation with you. Thanks for sharing!

Post a Comment

Let me have it...