Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

11.08.2010

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
 
How did PJ get this book?
Netgalley.com


Pre-Order:
January 1, 2011
Amazon.com 
BookDepository


 Stalk the Author:

Web | Blog | Twitter

Rating:



Unearthly by Cynthia Hand


PJVs QUICKIE POV: What a breath of fresh air! UNEARTHLY cleared the air of the horrendous mishmash that I spent yesterday immersed in. Thank you Ms. Hand for your refreshing and original creation. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found myself completely enraptured with Clara, Tucker and Christian. Cynthia Hand's debut novel, UNEARTHLY, was like a first kiss from the boy of your dreams, sparks flew and I couldn't pull away. I only wanted more.

REVIEW: Clara is an angel. Well 1/4 and angel. She has known about her heavenly origins for about 2 years now and when the vision depicting her PURPOSE strikes her in the middle of the night her mother wastes no time at all to help her on her path to fulfill her purpose.

Her PURPOSE involves the whole family moving to Wyoming and the small boutique town of Jackson Hole. The focus of her mission in life is a boy, a desperately good-looking boy that she must save. But, how can she save him if she can barely figure out this angel thing? Her mother won't tell her anything? The boy she must save is almost untouchable he is so popular at school and as her life becomes more full of friends, love interests and just teenage life Clara must make the most important decision of her life. What is more important, love or duty?

Breathlessly heart-breaking and touching, UNEARTHLY had me after the first paragraph and kept me mesmerized until the last word. I really almost sobbed when I read the last word because I didn't want it to end. The novel was exceptional, emotional and well-written. The characters were deeply thought-out and came to life upon the page. The emotional transition of the main character was refreshing - so much more real than the usual - I saw him, he was soo hot, I'm in love - that most YAs fall upon.

There was a sort of love triangle which is not an original YA trapping, but the way Hand spun the weave that was this threesome, it was very different from the usual, boy likes girl, girl likes other boy who might or might not like her back.

My only grief with this particular novel was the series aspect. I felt there were unanswered questions at the end of this book - and I really hate that. I don't want to have to wait until probably 2012 - which seems to be the usual wait for young adult titles these days. (I am not saying Book 2 will be released in 2012 from what I can tell there is no release date for Book 2 - but there is talk of a Book 2 on Ms. Hand's blog). While I love my series. The anticipation of waiting to see what happens next, I really do believe they are a marketing Chinese finger trap.  Just a way to sell more books and release an author from having to come up with completely original ideas. That sounds harsh, and I totally see the logistics behind it. What is the saying? Why reinvent the wheel? In a series all you can do is go up right? A snowball effect of readers. I just don't like to wait - that's the gist of this gripe. Especially a year.

After I read Intertwined by Gena Showalter I was hyped to read her next one, Unraveled.  The first book released in July 2009 and I read it in August. By the time the second released in August 2010 I really had lost all the passion to read book 2 that I had in August. I'm so inpatient. Is this my subtle hint to publishers to maybe take the Nancy Gideon route that she did with her Moonlight series? Yup. That is my hint. Or maybe a six month wait instead of a whole year...please?

How did I shove a rant into a review? LOL. Sorry guys. Read this book though...you'll love it and maybe we will hear soon when Book 2 of the UNEARTHLY series will be released and hopefully it will no be January 2012. I can't wait that long...I must have more. I need to find out what is going on! I have so many questions!

RECOMMENDATIONS: Parents have nothing to fear with this one...the main character is a perfect angel *har har*. There is slight reference to rape, but it is a reference. Fans of Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush should enjoy.





























































19 comments:

Leanna (Daisy Chain Book Reviews) said...

This one sounds good. I've been wondering about it, but haven't seen any reviews yet. I'm going to request it on Netgalley once I'm done with reviewing my other request from there.

Chapter Chicks said...

This book looks really good. :) I've been wanting it for quite some time. Of course we all know you can't write a blog post without a rant, lol, but that's why we love you! ;)

Also, I disliked Hush Hush so I hope it isn't too similar.

brandileigh2003 said...

This one sucked me in too, and I don't wanna wait!

Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

Savannah said...

Nice review :) I loved this book as well. A great page turner!

Sue Roebuck said...

Definitely. I'll look out for this one too.

Melissa (Books and Things) said...

Not a fan of Hush Hush, but still wanna read. Even if there is a cliffhanger! *shudder* Oh man! Shesh... I'm already complaining and I haven't even read the book yet!

Melissa @ Mel's Books and Info said...

This sounds good. I have been looking at it, but wasn't sure it was one I wanted to pick up until I read your review. Thanks!

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

Amazing review. I completely agree. I can not wait for the next book.

My review is posting this week and I pointed out how I love the different triangle too!

Tribute Books Mama said...

Great review, thanks

Missie said...

Really?! A first kiss! Who wouldn't want to relive that?!

Now I'm super excited to read this one. I love when a story is emotion driven.

Thank you.

ParaJunkee said...

I just compared to Hush, Hush because of the angel paranormal and the YA factor. It really isn't anything like Hush, Hush. I'm glad everyone liked the review...thanks for stopping by.

Tara SG (25 Hour Books) said...

I'm so glad you just review this! I almost started it yesterday, but wasn't sure if I was ready for another angel book.

I'm with you 110% on the series rant! I love series (I'm tearing through the DH books right now), but I hate when a book leaves with you too many questions. I don't remember the last time I read a book that wasn't part of a series. I'm like you, I tend to lose interest if there is too long of a wait between books.

Tara SG - 25 Hour Books

tahlianewland.com said...

Okay. I'll put it on my 'wait-until-the-next-one-is-out-before-reading list. Seriously, if I hear that there are unresolved issues or a total cliffhanger ending, that's what I do. I truly believe that every book should be complete within its self. A series shouldn't be an exuse to leave the first book unfinished.

Jessilyn said...

Just started reading this a week ago love it so far and loved your review!!

Elizabeth Briggs said...

I love series too, but I am also impatient, and I hate cliffhanger endings! Sometimes I like to wait until the last book is out to read the series - I just started Vampire Academy and I'm so happy I don't have to wait years for the end of it.

Dazzling Mage said...

Lol at the "perfect angel" comment. Awesome review. I've read a lot of positive reviews, and I am HYPED to read this!

Lily Child said...

Wow...this book sounds fantastic! Thanks for your fabulous review! :)

Selfcentered said...

Great Review! This book was completely engaging! :D I loved it.

My review is here

Heidi said...

I enjoyed your review especially your rant at the end. I agree publishers might be missing the mark by waiting so long. You forget things that happened in the previous book while waiting a year or so. Also by the time the new book comes out like you said so many other books have innundated the market sometimes you just say why bother. I am almost at the point to where I wait closer to the publication of the third book before picking up the second that is if the first book held it's pull on me.

Post a Comment

Let me have it...