Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

12.28.2010

Ill Wind by Rachel Caine

Stone Kissed by Keri Stevens
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Paranormal: Magic, Weather
Series: Weather Warden Series
Purchase:  Amazon.com | BookDepository
Stalk the Author: Blog | Twitter
Review from audio book purchased on audible.com

PJVs QUICKIE POV:
It is almost breath-taking when you find yourself embracing a new and wonderful series...one with books spread out before you in the multiples. Ah. Sweet reader bliss. And what a great series. This one has the potential for definite greatness, and I can't wait to read more. Rachel Caine is truly a wonderful writer and I've thus far enjoyed everything that I've read of hers. Truly superb and she has now been catapulted into my great authors category...up there with Mead, Harris, Harrison, Armstrong. Strong main character, intense action, intricately woven plot sequences, rich world building, emotionally evoking scenes and enough romance to wet the palate, you can't go wrong with ILL WIND.

REVIEW:
Joanne Baldwin is a weather warden, a person of great power. She can control the weather, reroute hurricanes, dissipate thunder storms and call down lightening. But, in the face of those more powerful than her she is helpless and now she is on the run. Desperate to find another fugitive, a man that is on the run from the same people, Lewis is probably the only person on the planet that can save her life.

On her frantic run to Oklahoma City of all places, she picks up a random hitch-hiker who turns out knows a little more of her situation than he would have her believe. As the council closes in, Joanne must decide if her life-long friends are trustworthy, or if she can put her faith in her new acquaintance.

Ill Wind was packed full of action, mystery, romance and interesting facts and tidbits regarding weather patterns. Caine's voice was assertive and full-bodied and she wove a roller-coaster ride that crisscrossed through Joanne's life and painted a very vivid picture. Regarding the audio book from audible.com the narrator was quite talented and seamlessly transitioned from character to character. The whole thing was a good experience and I can't wait to move on to the second book, Heat Stroke (Weather Warden, Book 2).

RECOMMENDATIONS:
This is an adult Urban Fantasy novel with some romance thrown in and a lot of action and adventure. Recommended for fans of Richelle Mead's Succubus series or Kim Harrison's Rachel Morgan series.








12 comments:

Jen D. said...

I love this series! It's totally underrated. Rachel Caine is an amazing writer. Happy to hear you enjoyed the book.

Laura (All of Everything) said...

I've been meaning to read this! Thanks for reminding me with a great review :]

Barbara said...

This is a great series. I love Rachel Caine.

Katie said...

I love love love this series. Rachel Caine rocks! I was totally disappointed when Total Eclipse turned out to be the last in the series, I'm still bummed.

J-9 said...

This is a great series, but like any great series I am sorry to say that the later books in the series are not as good as the first. But it is definitely one of the series, that i read back to back to back, as long as I could get my hands on the next book, it was read right away. I'm actually surprised that you are just reading them now, as Rachel Caine is a pretty well known author. But I guess the saying applies, so many books....so little time, lol.

Cheers!!!

http://j9books.blogspot.com/

Mandi said...

I really want to read this series!!!!

E.J. Stevens said...

I loved Ill Wind and can't wait to dive into this series. Great review!
xx,
E.J.
From the Shadows

Carissa said...

Huge Rachel Caine fan due to the Morganville Vampires series! The woman writes literary crack:-) Haven't had the pleasure of reading the Weather Warden series yet, but I'm glad to hear that it is on par with her other novels.

Missie said...

Hadn't heard of this new series by Caine, but I love the concept. Sounds very different, and I'm fascinated by weather patterns. Can't wait to try this one.

Smash Attack! said...

One of my fav UF series. I hope you enjoy every last one of them!

Larissa {Larissa's Bookish Life} said...

Awesome review! I LOVE this series sooo much hehe! sad its over =/

Kristin said...

Uh oh, you're not gonna want to stop with this series, it's just so damn good. Was sad when it ended...

Post a Comment

Let me have it...