Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

7.29.2011

Review: Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Long Way Home (Season 8, Vol. 1)



PJ's QUICKIE POV:
PJ Fact #24 – I am a Buffy nut. Buffy ran while I was in college and I was entranced with the snarky, pop-culture spouting, insanity of the whole show. I could literally watch rerun after rerun of the show – and for the year of 2005 my television dial never left TNT or TBS (one of those) because of the constant reruns. When I saw they had the Buffy Graphic Novel on netgalley.com I had to download it – even though graphic novels are best viewed on paper. Even with the silly scrolling and hard to read text boxes I still loved this comic!

REVIEW:
The characters looked so similar to the characters of the television show and the quirk and snark of the dialogue was still in full force. This is a must read for Buffy fans!

The comic picks up where Season 7 left off. All the slayers have been activated and Buffy is the general of this rag-tag bunch that has holed up in a castle halfway around the world from Sunnydale (now a crater). It is revealed that there are at least 1800 slayers that have been activated and 500 that are working for the Scooby Gang.

Buffy’s gang is thought to be a terrorist organization though, especially after the destruction of Sunnydale, which according to a branch of the US Military is her sole doing. In the rubble, members of this military organization stumble across one of Buffy’s old foes, who is determined to enact revenge on Buffy.

Must read for Buffy fans!

While this is going on, Buffy is investigating humans with odd tattoos on their chest and trying to placate her sister who by dating a demon has turned into a giant – all the while going on missions to snuff out demon infestations and training the novice slayers.

It was a great extension of the series, full of complex plot sequences, tremendous artwork and a great script. I can’t wait to move on to Vol. 2.

RECOMMENDATIONS:
For fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, I don't think I would recommend this to people that are not even slightly familiar with the series. You don't have to previously been into graphic novels...if you like/love/lust/covet Buffy - you MUST check out these comics.







Audiobook










14 comments:

Penelope Lolohea said...

Great review! I'm a buffy fanatic, too. I re-watch all seven season each year. I had no idea there were even comics until this year, so I ordered the first few from Amazon. They're great! I'll have to check Netgalley and see if they have the rest. :)

E.J. Stevens said...

Oooh, I really need to read the Buffy graphic novels. Thank you for the reminder and the review!

xx,
E.J.
Paranormal Author E.J. Stevens
From the Shadows

Sophie Gonzales said...

OMG you've read my mind! I'm a massive Buffy fan and just today I added some more Angel, Buffy and Spike comics to my collection! I need to get up to speed with Season 8 before Season 9 starts later this year, though.

Thanks for the review! :D

Sophie
www.lifebetweenpages.net

Sarah said...

lmao "out. for. a. walk...bitch" I love Spike.

I'm not really a graphic novel fan, but I love Buffy. I actually didn't really watch Buffy until a few months ago. I know *gasp* I was actually in middle/high school when it was out and for some reason I never even tried it. Although, I wasn't into vampires then like I am now. So, the past few months I've been catching up on all of them + Angel (don't like that show as much although I do like Angel). I'm on Season 5/2 now.

Don't know if I'll try this though. Maybe after I've finished watching the entire show.

♥ Sarah @ I'm Loving Books

Stephsco said...

I've been meaning to read these, and reminded again after I heard a new "season" of Buffy comics are in the works. Have to catch up!

The re-watch ability of Buffy is so high; I burned through all 7 seasons plus Angel on DVD in a few months, then was left with nothing until a few cable channels started reruns again. I think Buffy's on 3 places now: LOGO, CHILLER and Teen Nick (which seems to only show high school era Buffy).

Amy said...

I love this, although wish they'd carried on with the tv series. I still crave me some slayer action. If you liked this you should definitely check out the Angel Smile time graphic novel, it's amazing.

Amy@adumbrations

"Confuzzled" Shannon said...

Just reviewed this myself. Read it for the third time on NetGalley as well then bought the second at Wizard World Philly. Got to see Nicholas Brendon and his twin Kelly Donovan do the Snoopy Dance. Epic!

Jennifer@The Book Nympho said...

LOVE BUFFY!!! I have all the seasons (plus Angel on DVD. My hubby bought this. I need to read it.

Molli @ Once Upon a Prologue said...

I've watched the entire series once and re-watched S1-3...um a few times. Big Angel/Buffy fan here. Glad to know the graphic novel is good! I plan to catch up on "season 8" one of these days. :D

Cait said...

words cannot describe how much I love and miss Buffy. I wasn't sure about requesting this incase it was too different and I didn't like it but maybe I should. Kinda wanna read the Angel ones too to see what happened to Spike!

The Cait Files

Sherry Soule said...

I miss Buffy! I own the entire series and re-watch it every summer. I have a huge crush on Spike. *sigh*.

Joss Whedon is a genius and my favorite writer. :-)

While writing my novel, I created a Giles-like character to mentor my heroine.

~Sherry

Sherry Soule Official Website

Author of the Spellbound Series

Hannah said...

Ohhh, I really should pick the comics up sometime, I adored Buffy back in the day. I'd say that was as big, if not bigger, a part of my growing up as Harry Potter was. I started watching Buffy when season 3 was new because, ya know, I was 11 and didn't really know about it before then and watched right til the end. ALTHOUGH I've heard the graphic novels are a bit mental! But I have an interest in graphic novels in general at the moment.

Once Upon A Time

LoriStrongin said...

YES.

I read the BtVS graphic novels a few years ago and hope they do more and more. The humor and quirkiness of the characters comes through the writing and art quite clearly (esp. NickFury!Xander). I would disagree though, that I don't think the graphic novel Buffy looks a lot like Sarah Michelle Geller. Not that that would ever stop me from reading these!


Smiles!
Lori

Bonnie said...

I was also a huge Buffy fan! Is it awful that I didn't even know there was a graphic novel?

Post a Comment

Let me have it...