Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

8.08.2011

Review: The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson




PJ's QUICKIE POV:

For reasons unbeknownst to me I had put off reading this particular gem. Probably because in a world of heavy hitters that all had similar labels (dystopian, science fiction, young adult) it was eclipsed by flashier titles. And while I put it off for awhile, I did managedto finally get to it (the blame though lies solely on the the fact that I landed a Fox Inheritance ARC) and I’m so glad I did. THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX was a superb blend of mystery, intrigue and thought provoking topics. While not the best of the best of dystopian fiction, I do have to say that I’m still thinking about this one and am highly anticipating book two.


REVIEW:

Jenna Fox has just awoken from a year long coma and she can barely remember her name, much less how to put certain words together. Trying to regain her grasp on reality Jenna Fox is focused on putting together the pieces, remembering her prior life and making sense of the strange changes that her parents and grandmother have made after her accident. Jenna doesn’t know if it is because of her accident or something else more nefarious, but she is determined to find out the truth. Especially as mystery after mystery begins to surface.


The mystery behind Jenna Fox kept me stuck nose deep the entire time. I thought I might have had it figured out but then another loop was always thrown in. The book was excellently paced and drew me in word by word. The character of Jenna Fox was also solidly formed, her character went from 2D to three dimensional in a wonderful transition. What I did find confusing was that I couldn’t discern the authors meaning behind the story. I thought she was going a certain direction but then the ending threw me completely off. I guess maybe I have to wait for book two to see how the chips fall?


RECOMMENDATIONS:

Recommended for fans of dystopian and young adult books. Fans of Ally Condie, Lauren DeStefano and authors of great dystopian and science fiction should enjoy.






Audiobook


Like this Like That
  1. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  2. Delerium by Lauren Oliver







15 comments:

Lisa said...

I really enjoyed this book. I think it would make an interesting discussion for an ethics class. I was constantly debating with myself after reading this novel to determine if I felt what Jenna's dad did and the current doctors and their restriction on medical help was ethical or not.

Coreena McBurnie said...

I haven't even heard of this one, sounds interesting, thanks,
Coreena

Selina said...

I love dystopian fiction, but this is one of the few books that I did not enjoy that much. Maybe I had the wrong expectations, but I could not get into the story at all. It just felt slow and I was bored! I still plan to read the Fox Inheritance so I am looking forward to your review of that one.

Amy @ bookgoonie said...

It is in my short pile. Need to get it squeezed in. Thanks for the review.

Cait said...

This one completely passed me by too. But I'm getting on the dystopian bandwagon atm, so I might have to check it out. Ta for the review!

The Cait Files

Rain Maiden said...

I have never heard of this book before, but It sounds like I would enjoy it. Thanks for the post, I'll be adding this one to my wish list.

Lauren said...

I just picked this up from Borders last week. I cant wait to read it!

Cassandra said...

Have heard of this and The Fox Inheritance seems mysterious. Yet haven't had time to read The Adoration of Jenna Fox. Great review.

BookGeek said...

I love the title of this book. Looks like a great read. Thanks for recommending!

Jinny (SkyInk.net) said...

I have been wanting to read this for a while now, glad to hear it's a good one!

Lan said...

I haven't heard of this one but the cover is fantastic. Looking forward to reading it!

Mari - Escape In A Book said...

Great review, Rachel :) The Adoration of Jenna Fox has been on my wishlist for sometime now, so I'm glad to hear that you liked it. I very much enjoyed Matched so since you mention Ally Condie I'm guessing I'll like this one.

Lily Child said...

I remember reading this one and being so surprised at HOW MUCH I enjoyed it! I can hardly wait for the next book in the series! :)

Alyssa@Teens Read and Write said...

It's great when the character develops so well. Hopefully the second book cleared your confusion!

Tinasbookreviews said...

This is one of those books that I have had sitting on my shelf for a few years....I really need to read this soon....

Post a Comment

Let me have it...