Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

8.29.2011

Review: Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Paul Evans


PJ's QUICKIE POV:
Michael Vey wouldn't have been something that I'd grab if I was perusing the shelves of my local book store. For one, the title and for two, the fact that it seems geared for middle grade boys. I like Percy Jackson when he's a little more grown up...and you have to admit Harry Potter got a bit more relatable just about the time he entered the TriWizard Tournament. Now – push those negative thoughts to the side, because MICHAEL VEY exceeded my expectations 100 times over. Yes, they were low expectations but really – this is a shockingly good book. Great for middle grade boys of course, but also fun, entertaining and exciting for 30+ females.


REVIEW:
Michael Vey, what can we say about Michael? Fourteen years old, short for his age. Your typical underdog, poor and to top it off he has a slight case of Tourrette's which gives him a tick that is universally mocked by all. What Michael doesn't want you to know about him: He's deadly. Like an electric eel, Michael can shock someone into submission just by touching them. His mother is afraid for his safety and the moment someone gets even a hint of his powers, she packs them up and moves them to a new town. Michael is now attending Meridian High School, his best friend and neighbor, Ostin Liss along with super popular Taylor Ridley are the only ones he has ever told of his powers and with their help he's soon discovering he might not be alone, in fact there might be a whole group of children that all have similar powers. But, as more and more comes to light, one things becomes obvious...there is a group that knows about these children and they'll stop at nothing to get a hold of Michael, including, kidnapping Michael's mom.


This was a good story, entertaining, quick paced, good character development and an underlying mystery that had me engrossed in the story. Michael, his friends, Ostin and Taylor were well developed and I was quickly taken by all of them. The evil factors in the novel were just creepy enough to give me goosebumps. Richard Paul Evans did an excellent job and I can't wait to read more of this series, which I think it's supposed to be seven books (I could have read that wrong and I can't find where I saw this).


Being a middle grade book, though, it did have it's immature moments which can be hard for more mature readers, but they were few and far between.

RECOMMENDATIONS:
Recommended for tweens and teens, 12+, more mature readers might be a little turned off by the sillier parts. For fans of I AM NUMBER FOUR, PERCY JACKSON and other supernatural themed, male leads, you should enjoy.






Young Adult Novel





Like this Like That
  1. Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
  2. The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan



8 comments:

roro said...

cool review

ParaJunkee said...

Thanks roro!

Samantha said...

It sounds interesting. I might have to check it out.

Bookish Brunette said...

I've so been wondering about this one! Good to know I can enjoy it too!! And HP totally got more relatable during the TriWizard tournament! Lol

Mari - Escape In A Book said...

I just added this book to my wishlist a couple of days ago, I watched the trailer and thought the book sounded good. I'm not sure if I'm in the target group, I'm not yet 30 and I'm not a boy ;)

Great review, I can't see any reasons to remove Micahel Vey from my wishlist.

Jennifer (An Abundance of Books) said...

This looks like a cool read, I'll definitely be looking into it more as a school library purchase.

fairypenguin said...

Looks interesting, and I do have a soft spot for underdogs. Great review!

Belgie said...

This book is great for people any age it has action, suspense, and a little bit of romance. I read this book in a day i couldnt put it down. When i finished it I was thinking when is the next one coming out! Its a terricfic book.

Post a Comment

Let me have it...