Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

11.01.2010

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning


 
How did PJ get this book?
TLC Book Tours

Purchase:

Amazon.com 
BookDepository


 Stalk the Author:

Web | Blog | Twitter

Rating:



Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning


PJVs QUICKIE POV: This is one of my all time favorite Urban Fantasy series. I have a thing for faeries, whether they are good or bad faeries, I don't care bring them on! Moning, in her wonderful MacKayla Lane series, has created a world both entirely creepy and wonderfully compelling.  She blends bare bones human emotion with fantastical and horrifying creatures. Her creations, Mac & Barrons are one of the most resonating characters that I have had the pleasure of reading. If you haven't partaken of this series...what is holding you back?

REVIEW: MacKayla Lane's ordinary world is suddenly thrust into the extraordinary with one phone call. A cryptic voice mail left by her sister right before she dies changes Mac's life forever. Desperate to find answers to her sister's murder and figure out the odd message, Mac journeys to Ireland. Immediately she realizes that something is not quite what it seems.

As her own life becomes threatened and creatures from her nightmares take shape into reality, Mac is thrust into the path of Jericho Barrons, another mystery. Not quite sure whether he is there to help or hinder, Mac must align herself with someone, because she can't do this on her own. The problem, Barrons has one focus and Mac seems like the ticket to that conclusion: Find the Sinsar Dubh - the object that will control both the mortal world and the world of the Fae. Just what will he use it for?

A very intricate plot with twists and turns that left me breathless. I rooted for Mac every step of the way and as she got deeper and deeper the intrigue only worsened. The relationships Mac had with all her side characters were so in depth that I felt I knew them all personally. A well constructed novel, by far - with excellent dialogue that made me feel like I was a part of the conversation. The characters are so well structured and 4 dimensional that I would swear they are actually real. On top of the depth of the characters the range of human emotions and morality that is touched upon in the novel resonates as real real real.  Moning has gift...and that gift is understanding human nature and weaving it into her stories. You aren't just entertained, you are schooled. Once again, a must read.

RECOMMENDATIONS: Adults only, has some R rated themes. This is an urban fantasy novel, with any romantic hinting, just that - a hint. Fans of Richelle Mead's Succubus or Eugenie series should enjoy.
























































8 comments:

Ella Press said...

I've been told this is a good series. I guess I'll add them to my TBR list, and read them someday!

My 5 Monkeys(Julie) said...

I found out this series on twitter--Love barrons

Mandi said...

NEED SHADOWFEVER ;)

Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews said...

Great review and I also love Barrons!

Can't wait till "ShadowFever" comes out!

Anonymous said...

I use to love this series, but for me, it's lost something. I felt this book was more filler and I didn't get any answers. I really didn't like how at the end the author tried to get readers to buy more stuff and it felt like she was giving herself a pat on the back for a job well done. Which I thought was sad and it made me dislike the story. I remeber when DarkFever first came out I loved it! I hope the last one gets better. Great review!

Missie said...

I say this with affection, but I have a total love/Hate relationship with these books. All the cliffies really killed me!

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm really looking forward to Shadow Fever.

ParaJunkee said...

Look...I'm totally with everyone on the cliffhangers. In fact after reading Dreamfever I think I tweeted KMM and called her evil. LOL. It is a total love/hate - but the release party for ShadowFever will be in my hometown {New Orleans} and I'll be there with bells on and waiting patient to find out about the last cliff.

@Anon - I liked that little tid bit with Barrons and KMM I thought it was kinda crazy and showed just how into this stuff the author gets.

Missie said...

I don't know how I missed that comment by anon yesterday, but I have to agree! There is a lot of unnecessary filler.

I remember feeling like the author was purposely stalling the story, which really frustrated me.

Post a Comment

Let me have it...