Subscribe to my RSS Parajunkee on Twitter Like on Facebook! Goodreads YouTube Tumblr
Paypal
Google Email Me! google Amazon profile
Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, books, movie, giveaways and more! This blog has moved. View latest greatest info at parajunkee.com

8.15.2011

Review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

PJ's QUICKIE POV:
A spectacle to behold, ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD is a darkly intense thriller that will leave you breathless – not knowing which way to turn. Kendare Blake’s words burn from the page, her writing style perfectly crafted with a darkness and odd sense of humor that made for an engrossing read. I was won over by the characters, blown away by the plot and enchanted by the progression. I did not expect this novel. To say this book is a thriller and leave it at that is like saying Romeo & Juliet is a romance. ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD needs to be experienced and Ms. Blake needs to hurry up and write more because I am hooked and I need my next fix.


REVIEW:
Theseus Cassio Lowood is one of a kind. Armed with an anthame that he inherited from his murdered father, Theseus, better known as Cas, kills the dead. The dead he sends “away” aren’t your garden-variety spooks, either. These are no chain rattlers, or table shakers that he stalks. Cas goes after the killers. The ghost that haunts the highway, hitching and then killing unwary do-gooders, the girl that haunts her old house and rips anyone to shreds that sets foot inside – these are who/what Cas hunts. He moves from town to town, following, tracking and hunting. His only companions - his mother and their cat. When he gets a tip that leads him to the ghost called ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD, Cas is instantly drawn to the story. Cas and his mother move to Thunderbay and almost instantly he is told the story of Anna Koslov and how she has killed and dismembered anyone that has set foot within her home. By befriending the a-typical popular girl, Carmel and pissing off Mike, the a-typical meat-head jock, Cas finds himself on Anna’s porch, being whacked over the head by a 2x4 and thrown into the house…when he comes to he sees Anna. She is a goddess of death, drenched in blood – and she spares him. She has never spared anyone…


From the character development to the smart writing style of Blake, to the gothic setting and back-story, this novel had it all. Full of thrills, blood and guts, hinted romance and quirky side characters, ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD had me riveted from page one. This is not your typical young adult novel, in fact this is the most intensely portrayed ghost story that I’ve read in any age range. Cas is a larger than life character and ANNA - well, there is no describing ANNA. She is everything, feared, pitied, revered, sympathized, horrified…her character was so well depicted that she could almost come alive (even though I would run screaming like a wuss!) and walk into the room. This book scared me and comforted me and entertained me…I’m ridiculously pleased and I can’t wait for more.

Full of thrills, blood and guts, hinted romance and quirky side characters, ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD had me riveted from page one.
RECOMMENDATIONS:
Recommended for mature teens, there is descriptive violence and mature language. Recommended for horror and thriller fans. Fans of Koontz and King – if you are looking for a YA title this is the one for you! It also reminded me a bit of I AM NUMBER FOUR stemming from the fact that it has a strong male lead with a quirky, nerdy side kick and a hottie popular chick floating around in it.








Audiobook


Like this Like That
  1. Darkness Becomes Her by Kelly Keaton
  2. White Cat by Holly Black
  3. Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater












20 comments:

Little_Dhampir91 said...

Great review! I can't wait to read this!

Autumn @ From the TBR Pile said...

This is one that I so want to read. I've heard so many conflicting things on it. I need to get my hands on this book asap!

Alana said...

ooooo spooky! I like it! Thanks for the great review!

Lisa Mandina said...

This book is on my to read list. Great review!

Rain Maiden said...

This one is going on my wish list!

Gina @ My Precious said...

Oh, this one sounds different. I featured this in a Cover Crazy Post. I thought the cover was so awesome. I'm super pleased to hear the story was just as captivating. Great review!

Moonlit Librarian said...

Wow, I bet my boyfriend would enjoy this.

Nikki H. said...

I'm so jealous you have this! Great review, I can't wait to read this too. Hope I enjoy it as much as you did!

geekgirl said...

This one sounds amazing! Definitely going on my to-read pile once it is released.

Amy J said...

I have been dying to read this! Great review! You have just upped my desire to read it even more!

Elizabeth Briggs said...

Wow, awesome review. I will definitely check this one out.

_yay_ said...

Thanks for the fab review!!
I'll definitely read this one. Sounds awesome :-)

Smash Attack! said...

Wow. One of the best reviews I've read for this book. I am extremely excited to read it now!

Linda said...

Awesome review! This book sounds really good and I'm looking forward to reading it.

Frosy said...

I so want to read this now!!!

nymfaux said...

this looks *so* good!!!


p.s. love you're new numbering icons!

Patti (Caught in a FAB Romance) said...

I wasn't too sure until you said "hint of romance and quirky side characters" and then I saw 5 stars. I'll be checking this one out!

Denise Z said...

I so want to read this book - thank you for sharing with us your wonderful review.

Eva said...

Wow! Great review. This one is a MUST HAVE. Already ordered it on my Kindle. Thank you very much!

Krystal Larson said...

I love this review! I can't wait to read the book too:)

Post a Comment

Let me have it...